We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781529391718

Price: £16.99

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Reviews

With its captivating world-building, fast-paced story and cast of memorable characters, The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea will charm, delight and surprise readers
Juliet Marillier, award-winning author of the Warrior Bards series
A clever, creative, and exquisitely written tale of sacrifice, love, and fate
Stephanie Garber, Sunday Times bestselling author of Caraval and Once Upon a Broken Heart
A beautiful, mesmerizing retelling I wish I'd had when I was growing up . . . A heartfelt tale that I will be recommending for years to come
Elizabeth Lim, New York Times bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes
A true jewel of a story that shines in the world of fantasy . . . This beautifully woven tale brimming with heart, spirit, and love is a dream you'll never want to end
Janella Angeles, bestselling author of Where Dreams Descend
Shim Cheong is Korea's most famous legend and one I've heard all my life, but as a feminist it has always been my least favorite. Axie's book retells the fairy tale and empowers the girl protagonist while still preserving the beloved classic tale, set in a fantastical world so unique and fascinating. I absolutely loved every word!
Ellen Oh, author of Prophecy and co-founder of We Need Diverse Books
A sumptuous fairytale world to dive into full of whimsy and heart. Perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli!
Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire
[A] majestic magical marvel of a book
Buzzfeed
Nicely paced and beautifully written, this engrossing fantasy is packed with memorable characters, starting with the headstrong Mina, and including the mysterious Shin, with whom she becomes inexplicably tied . . . A perfect for fit readers who love Spirited Away
Booklist
Oh weaves an intricate and engaging tale . . . Captivated readers will long to be pulled deeper into the story. A fantastical world to get lost in
Kirkus
A luscious and beautiful experience
Bookish Brews
Get ready to be swept into a world of gods, spirits, surprising twists, and mingled destinies. The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a breathtaking cinematic fairy tale with a courageous heroine at its heart
Traci Chee, New York Times bestselling author of A Thousand Steps into Night
Axie Oh's The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a beautifully written fantasy inspired by Spirited Away and steeped in Korean mythology. Lyrical prose, incredible world building, and a heroine worth rooting for - this story is everything and then some. A stunning feat of storytelling and an un-put-downable read. I wish I could read it again for the first time. Absolutely exquisite!
Kalynn Bayron, bestselling author of Cinderella is Dead and This Poison Heart
A tale brimming with love. The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea will whisk you away on an entrancing journey through the most magical realm. Axie Oh's characters own my whole heart
Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights
'A wondrous, richly imagined tale of love, family, and sacrifice. Axie Oh's lyrical prose sweeps you into an extraordinary world of myth and legend, where gods of lore live and breathe, and one girl's determination to change her fate will capture your heart. Fans of Studio Ghibli will adore this magical story!
June CL Tan, author of Jade Fire Gold
This YA fantasy is an enthralling mix of magic, romance, and high stakes, with lovely worldbuilding at its centre
BuzzFeed News SFF round-up
The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea captivated me with its depiction of a spirit realm rooted in Korean myth and moved me with the power of love and family in its story. A beautiful new favorite of mine!
Xiran Jay Zhao, New York Times bestselling author of Iron Widow
A magical odyssey of gods, mythical beasts and enchanted spirits
Lifestyle Northeast
A world deep down under the sea, a motley crew of demons and spirits, and a young girl willing to do anything to save her brother - a recipe for a great new fantasy
Mr B’s Bookseller’s Dozen
Majestic, magical marvel of a book
BuzzFeed
A soulful story with big-hearted characters and a truly whimsical setting, The Girl Who Fell Beneath The Sea offers readers a dose of pure fantasy escapism. Something we need now more than ever
Culturefly
At all times it's fanciful and vibrant, a love letter to the mythology of Oh's childhood... It's beautifully written, its poetry-tinged prose elevating it above other similarly themed YA novels
SFX
Swept me away to another world - an enchanting and lyrical tale, perfect for fans of Midnight in Everwood
Armadillo Magazine
Spellbinding
The New York Times
A lush, compassionate reimagining
Tor.com
A beautiful, poetic, heartfelt, and mesmerising retelling
The Nerd Daily
Tender, precious feminist retelling of Korean The Tale of Shim Cheong ... An enigmatic, epic achievement
Australian Women’s Weekly