We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Hardcover / ISBN-13: 9781399613767

Price: £20

ON SALE: 11th June 2024

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Part space odyssey, part Sapphic romcom and all spaceship-stealing fun, Emily Hamilton’s breathtaking debut is a wild tale of galaxy-spanning friendship, improbable love, and wonder as vast as the universe itself.

‘I love the way the relationship between Cleo and Billie developed. I fell in love with them, with their relationship. And they made me cry a lot. AND THE LONGING !!!!!!!!’ Reader review, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

‘Absolutely gut-wrenching and gorgeously written. This book sucked me in instantly’ Reader review, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

So, here’s the thing: Cleo and her friends really, truly didn’t mean to steal this spaceship.

They just wanted to know why, twenty years ago, the entire Providence crew vanished without a trace. But then the stupid dark matter engine started all on its own, and now these four twenty-somethings are en route to Proxima Centauri, unable to turn around, and being harangued by a snarky hologram that has the face and attitude of the ship’s missing captain, Billie.

Cleo has dreamt of being an astronaut all her life, and Earth is kind of a lost cause at this point, so this should be one of those blessings in disguise people talk about. But as the ship gets deeper into space, the laws of physics start twisting, old mysteries start crawling back to life, and Cleo’s initially combative relationship with Billie turns into something deeper and more desperate than either woman is prepared for.

Lying somewhere in the subspace between science fantasy and sapphic rom-com, The Stars Too Fondly is a soaring near-future adventure about dark matter and alternate dimensions, leaving home and finding family, and the galaxy-saving power of letting yourself love and be loved.

I’m a huge fan of that bombastic, earnest, interdimensional aspect that 80’s sci-fi had, so seeing it here, just as earnest and openly Queer, was a real treat’ Reader review, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

The vibes of this book are seriously so great. It had some of my favorite bookish elements – found family, great banter, forced proximity, and women in STEM’ Reader review, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

‘QUEER ROMANCE. IN SPACE. ROMANTASY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The number of times I silent screamed while reading this cannot even be counted on one hand. This novel is so, so, SO funny and heartfelt‘ Reader review, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

‘Space? Check. Sapphic? Check. Rom-com? Check. . . . I loved it from the first page’ Reader review, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

I loved this book. It was soft and loving and bright and adventurous and surprised me in a wonderful way‘ Reader review, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

‘Wow, this book was such a fun surprise. It was a bit like an episode of Doctor Who. There are big universe ending stakes and yet it’s still funny and light-hearted‘ Reader review, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

I adored literally everything about this. I am a huge Trekkie and also a huge Star Trek Voyager fan and a queer woman, so it did feel like this book might have been made in a lab for me‘ Reader review, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

‘I adored this book. The science, the found family, the relationship between Billie and Cleo- it was absolute perfection‘ Reader review, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Reviews

The Stars Too Fondly is a fun, queer space romp featuring a compelling mystery, a delightful found family, and a sapphic romance full of exquisite pining. Often funny and always heartfelt, this wildly original story kept me up late turning pages!
Sarah Hawley, author of A Witch's Guide to Fake Dating a Demon
A perfect hope-punk science fantasy that reminds me of Doctor Who in all the best ways. The Stars Too Fondly is magnificent in its spaceship stealing adventure and twisty plot. Where Emily Hamilton excels is the bonds between friends and loved ones that stretch between light-years and dimensions with the comfort of a weighted blanket. It is an achingly beautiful and hilariously funny debut.
K.B. Wagers, author of A Pale Light in the Black
Funny and charming, The Stars Too Fondly perfectly balances Starfleet 'can do' attitude, punk swagger, and cozy rom-com vibes. Emily Hamilton's debut is a wildly original tale that feels cozy and epic at the same time. My Trekkie heart adored it
Mike Chen, New York Times bestselling author of A Quantum Love Story
The fate of the world rests in the hands of a ragtag group of queers stuck on a spaceship bound for Proxima Centauri. Even though they live in the future, their concerns are all too familiar: astrology, quoting Mary Oliver, watching The Watermelon Woman, and processing their feelings. Emily Hamilton's debut is as addictive as it is funny, and as interstellar as it is human.
Amelia Possanza
The Stars Too Fondly is a sparkling debut filled with found family, queer joy, and a delightful romance that made me swoon. It hooked me from the start, and I couldn't put it down as I rooted for Cleo to find her way home-both literally and figuratively. I adored every word, and I can't wait to see what Emily Hamilton writes next!
Jessie Mihalik, author of Hunt the Stars
Emily Hamilton's The Stars Too Fondly begins as a quippy heist with an endearing cast then evolves into a space comedy that has as many thoughtful explorations of the inner-workings dark matter as the - equally complicated - relationships that make up a found family. This highly self-aware novel prioritizes care and connection, without sacrificing any of the fun of space (mis)adventure. Because sometimes saving the world starts with saving each other. I cannot wait to see readers who love Tamsyn Muir's Gideon and Harrow go absolutely feral for Cleo and Billie
Micaiah Johnson, author of Those Beyond the Wall and The Space Between Worlds
The vacuum of space is anything but dark when your found family is with you. This cozy space opera is delightful and full of heart
Al Hess, author of World Running Down
The Stars Too Fondly is a romantic, joyful, and often poignant sci-fi romp that scratched an itch I didn't know I had. An utter delight
Hannah Fergesen, author of The Infinite Miles
Heartpounding, heartwarming, and flat-out fantastic, this book is as brilliant and beautiful as the stars! I laughed, I cried, I cheered -- I absolutely loved it! A new favourite
Sarah Beth Durst, award-winning author of THE BONE MAKER
The found family of the friends is at the heart of the characters' actions, and Hamilton deftly keeps the story moving through action and emotion. . . .This delightful debut is a space odyssey with just enough mystery and romance to keep readers thoroughly entertained
Library Journal